About the APPG

L to R: Nadia Martini, Baroness Mobarik, Yaser Martini, Sarah Olney MP (Chair of APPG) at the AGM on 7.2.24

The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Ethnicity Transplantation and Transfusion was established on 6 December 2022, with Team Margot Foundation providing secretariat support.

The Group held its most recent Annual General Meeting on 7 February 2024.

Given the upcoming General Election, the APPG ceased to exist on Thursday 30th of May 2024 when Parliament dissolved. This is because the Group’s membership comprises MPs and Lords and with the dissolution, there are no longer any sitting MPs.  As such all formal activities, including meetings, reports, and any other parliamentary engagements must cease, until the new Parliament is convened and the APPG is hopefully reconstituted.

Thank you for all your support.



Highlighting how the lack of donor participation affects patients with ethnically diverse backgrounds. Raising awareness of health inequalities faced by mixed heritage and ethnic minority patients requiring an organ or stem cell transplant or a blood transfusion. Advocating equitable access to treatment for mixed heritage and ethnic minority patients.

Click image above, or here to view and download report

Inquiry 2023 – Where are our nation’s donors ?

During 2023, the APPG held an inquiry into the inequitable access to blood transfusion, organ and stem cell transplantation services in the UK for patients from Black, Asian, mixed race and minority ethnic communities. The inquiry sought to understand the scale of the problem and to make recommendations on the steps that need to be taken to increase organ, blood and stem cell registrations and donations.

Fifty four written evidence submissions were received and two verbal evidence witness sessions were Chaired by Sarah Olney MP, alongside Rt Hon Mark Tami MP and Dame Jackie Doyle-Price.

The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Ethnicity Transplantation and Transfusion subsequently launched the inquiry report: ‘Where are our nation’s donors?’.

The Guardian newspaper published this article in respect of the report.


Sarah Olney (Liberal Democrat), Chair & Registered Contact
Rt Hon Mark Tami (Labour), Vice Chair
Fleur Anderson (Labour)
The Baroness Mobarik CBE (Conservative)

The Baroness Benjamin DBE OBE (Liberal Democrat), Honorary President


Afzal Khan (Labour)
Bob Blackman (Conservative)
Claudia Webbe (Independent)
Dawn Butler (Labour)
Elliot Colburn (Conservative)
Feryal Clark (Labour)
Florence Eshalomi (Labour)
Jackie Doyle-Price (Conservative)
Janet Daby (Labour)
Jeremy Quin (Conservative)
John McDonnell (Labour) 
Kim Johnson (Labour) 
Kim Leadbeater (Labour) 
Marsha de Cordova (Labour)
Mary Glindon (Labour) 
Sir Peter Botomley (Conservative)
Rachel Hopkins (Labour) 
Ruth Cadbury (Labour) 
Stephen Timms (Labour) 
Thangam Debbonaire (Labour) 
The Lord Sewell of Sanderstead CBE (Conservative)
Tulip Siddiq (Labour) 
Valerie Vaz (Labour) 
Virendra Sharma (Labour)


Group’s Website: https://www.teammargot.com/appg
Sarah Olney MP, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA Tel: 020 7219 4821
Email: sarah.olney.mp@parliament.uk

Public Enquiry Point
Honorary Secretary: Paul Hegarty, Team Margot Foundation
18 Footherley Road, Shenstone, Staffordshire, WS14 ONJ Tel: 07808 096 250
Email: paul@teammargot.com

Manifesto last updated 27.5.23